Qualifying for the CGAT Program:

Eligibility Requirements:

To participate in the CGAT program, a qualified candidate must meet the following conditions:

  • Have a high school diploma or GED
  • Have an interest in governmental accounting

Certification Requirements:

To be certified, a qualified participant must complete 24 hours of study consisting of two core courses and two elective courses are taken within two (2) years of acceptance to the program.  The offered courses are as follows:

General Ledger (core course)
Budgeting (elective course)
Fund Accounting (core course)
Purchasing/Accounts Payable (elective course)
Payroll (elective course)
Billings/Accounts Receivable  (elective course)

The purpose of the Certified Governmental Accounting Technician (CGAT) Program is to improve candidates’ professional, administrative and fiscal skills through a series of courses approved by the Government Finance Officers Association of Alabama (GFOAA) in these areas.

Continuing Education Requirements:

To be certified, a qualified participant must complete two core courses: General Ledger and Fund Accounting, and two elective courses taken within two (2) years of beginning the program. Both core and elective course dates can be found on the registration page.

Effective April 1, 2020, GFOAA Certified Government Accounting Technician (CGAT) graduates are encouraged, but not required, to complete Continuing Professional Education (CPE) every two (2) years.

CPE hours may include a combination of attending trainings such as:

  • GFOAA annual conference
  • GFOAA summer conference
  • CGAT conference
  • Additional CGAT elective courses (not taken for original certificate)
  • Job-related webinars or employer-sponsored training, including professional development, public speaking, accounting software, business writing

If you have any questions, please email GFOAAOutreachCoordinator@gmail.com.


*This training is not exclusive to GFOAA members and is open to individuals interested in governmental accounting.